Starting out as a Peer Worker on EMPOWER

EMPOWER Study

My name’s Davie and I’ve just started work as a Mental Health Peer Support Worker with the EMPOWER Study.

I’m married with two kids and have worked in social care since 2006. My last psychosis was in 2005 and since then I have had a lot of help and learned different ways of dealing with my condition. I keep fairly good mental health today and feel that although recovery has been a trudge at times overall it has given me a strength that in the early days I didn’t know was possible.

This is a totally new role for me and in a way a disclosure about my mental health. After all it’s in my job title PEER. I have always kept my mental health problems a secret in previous jobs, which, by the way is exhausting! My new employer has employed me perhaps because I’ve got lived experience and…

View original post 326 more words

Leave a Reply

