24 Hours in Hell: reblog @iamjoannebloggs

Joanne Bloggs

I hardly even know where to start on what happened over the last 24 hours. After voluntarily admitting myself to an acute psychiatric ward, I soon realised it was a frightening and unsafe place, with half-naked people screaming, spitting and shouting throughout the whole ward, and staff doing little to stop them. I’ve been on psychiatric wards before – and yes, there are some extremely ill people in such places – but this was chaos.

I’d arrived at 6pm. I realise there are resourcing issues in the NHS and I realise this was the day of the junior doctors’ strike, but as it happens this ward did not appear understaffed – when I arrived on the ward it had a ratio of 1 staff to 2 patients. What was obvious was a culture of contempt within the staff team for the service and for the patients, with one staff member standing around bragging…

View original post 1,083 more words

Leave a Reply

