Normalisation by @DrEm_79 via @MentalHealthCop

Mental Health Cop

This is a guest post by Em, or @DrEm_79 from Twitter – our various discussions on there made me realise she has a lot to say that is important and relevant for police officers responding to mental health crisis incidents. I think there’s a lot going on here and much of it is contradictory: but that seems to me to be precisely the point Em is trying to make – the normalisation of the police as a de factomental health service is something to caution against and worry about

I’m giving a trigger warning, too: Em’s post contains descriptions of suicide attempts and restraint that may disconcert some who read this —

It takes eleven minutes to walk to the GP surgery, but I only made it halfway. I don’t remember deciding to die. I don’t know why I chose the wooded embankment, and I’d lost consciousness before…

View original post 3,408 more words

Leave a Reply

