Capacity to Consent

Mental Health Cop

This BLOG has been some months in the thinking andmaking, including the need for me to pin down several people for a discussion. I’m grateful for their help, but I’ve decided to leave them un-named at this stage: because I want in noway to associate them with criticism of the ideas I sought them out to discuss. They helped confirm what I was thinking, so I’d like to take the hit if one is due from what follows in this post about the capacity of vulnerable to consent to a course of action.

The law presumes that people over the age of 16 have the capacity to make their own decisions and indeed, that they may take unwise decisions, provided they have the capacity to take them. The Mental Capacity Act itself outlines how capacity is enjoyed with regard to a particular decision where a person can communicate their decision…

View original post 1,681 more words

Leave a Reply

