A life beyond my wildest dreams: From ‘Paranoid schizophrenia’ to the House of Commons. [reblog]

Race Reflections

This short talk/speech on mental health/employment was made by Yvonne Steward-Williams at The House of Commons; as part of the Paul Burstow MP parliamentary showcase reception on behalf of the Mental Illness and Employment Task and Finish Group: Addressing the serious health inequity of employment outcomes on Tuesday 13th January 2015.

Dear Supporter,

My name is Yvonne Stewart-Williams. I am a Lesbian, a Freemason, a British Quaker Overseer responsible for people’s pastoral care. I am a student studying with the Open University for a Combined Social Science degree. I am a Political Activist and ran for my local council in 2010, and again in 2014 and took part in hustings. I am a Gay Rights Campaigner and did my bit with Stonewall and other groups to secure the rights to equal marriage, I am a Mental Health Campaigner and Activist; I am also a mother.

My journey started twenty-two years ago…

View original post 532 more words

Leave a Reply

