Re-labelling (and a bit): Dr Peter J Gordon [reblog]

Hole Ousia

I read this book recently [below].

I am approaching fifty. With age-related sight changes I find that my arms need to be longer!. So if I have misread “and a bit”  please do forgive me:

Now we are sixty and a bit

This book reminded my of a protocol issued by an NHS Board that I once worked for:

4 april 2014 all over 65 MUST

As a doctor who tries his best to follow evidence-based medicine, I argued against this dictat. I found that, neither my NHS Board nor indeed that NHS Scotland shared my concerns:

Brian Robson

With the recent publication of the Care Standards for Older People, the Chair of Healthcare Improvement Scotland confirmed:

Letter4b

It would appear to me that this “screening instrument” has been re-labelled.

The 4AT has been developed and promoted as:

010Tools

Recently the 4AT has recently been re-labelled as:

4AT validated UK Gov

The authors  4AT describe its key features:

(1) “brevity” (takes less than 2 minutes”), and

(2) that…

View original post 100 more words

Leave a Reply

