Reblog: “Hospital managers should be regulated” Dr Peter J Gordon

Hole Ousia

This letter was recently published in the BMJ:

Managers hould be regulated, BMJ, May 2015

I have never been a “whistleblower”.

I have though attempted to be a “stronger voice” in NHS Scotland in trying to put patients first. My experience has not been an easy one.

I attempted to express this – in a letter of last year – to Shona Robison, Cabinet Secretary for Health, Wellbeing and Sport:

123

It is quite possible that I have been forgetful of any reply that may have come from the Cabinet Minister. So six months on, I recently sent this follow on:

234

I am keen to understand who is deemed in statute to be the independent regulator for NHS Scotland? My current understanding is that this role is fully the remit of Healthcare Improvement Scotland (HIS) . In my view, this national organisation has a conflicting role between “scrutiny” and “improvement”.

View original post

Leave a Reply

