When forgetfulness becomes pathological

Hole Ousia

A few years back I was a member of the Policy Group for Alzheimer Scotland. I resigned as I was concerned about some of the approaches being taken at a national level, and in particular given my significant concerns about the target for early diagnosis of dementia.

This week a promotional e-mail arrived from Alzheimer Scotland:2 Feb 2015 Alz Scot early diagnosis2  The “Let’s talk about Dementia” campaign was introduced as:

“we want to open up the discussion on dementia and raise the awareness of the importance of early diagnosis”

The guidance given is comprehensive and explicit. An Alzheimer Scotland helpline is available 24 hours:How-you-can-help

The good intentions are clear. Yet I have significant concerns about this approach.

I have previously covered my concerns about early diagnosis here.

I have also considered the wider scientific evidence on memory loss as we age. This post on the parabolic pattern offers a summary.

The risk of the…

View original post 298 more words

Leave a Reply

