“When managers rule”

@PeterDLROW: “So “was it worth it?” Despite the experiences I have outlined, I wish to document some personal successes:

  • I advocated a timely approach to the diagnosis of dementia, when virtually nobody else would. It is now considered the best approach across Europe.
  • I have promoted transparency across NHS Scotland (and will continue to do so)
  • I continue to advocate that we routinely consider ethics in every healthcare encounter”

Hole Ousia

The title from this blog-post is not mine. “When managers rule” was the title Professor Brian Jarman gave to his British Medical Journal Editorial published two years ago this Christmas.

When-managers-rule2

At the time that the Editorial was published my family, many of whom have had a career in healthcare, found themselves discussing it. The Editorial also attracted a significant number of written responses to the BMJ.

Two years on from the publication of Professor Jarman’s Editorial, my thoughts have returned to it given the recent short-life review of quality and safety in Aberdeen Royal Infirmary:

ari1

I generally find that narrative is the best way of approaching, and perhaps best appreciating, complex matters such as this.

Here I shall set out a narrative of my two years as an NHS consultant since Professor Jarman’s Editorial. I hope that my experience can add, in some small way, to the wider appreciation…

View original post 1,205 more words

Leave a Reply

