[Out-of-office replies] and “disconnect”

Hole Ousia

This blog post was written after reading the report on the review of the quality of care at Aberdeen Royal Infirmary. I was both shocked and saddened to read this report:

ARI1

In reading this report I was struck by how often staff mentioned the word “disconnect”:

Entry 9.24 of the report seems to capture the disconnect, with words used like “disengagement” and “detached”. It also raises the experience of frontline staff where concerns were “not being satisfactorily addressed” or “being met with silence”:

ARI4

This report left me reflecting on my recent experience as an NHS doctor working in Scotland. I have two examples of such “disconnect”.

The first example [completely anonymised] consists of replies from a very senior NHS manager. This communication related to my considerations about care for the elderly whilst in hospital:

Sent: 16 January 2014
[my secretary] has helpfully jogged my memory and I must apologise. I…

View original post 138 more words

Leave a Reply

