Hospital prescribing of Haloperidol in your NHS Health Board area

Hole Ousia

I have sent the following as a Freedom of Information request to 14 NHS Boards in Scotland. When I receive replies I will post them on Hole Ousia.

7 November 2014.

Dear NHS Board,
I am writing as part of a Freedom of Information request regarding statistical details of the prescribing of the antipsychotic medication generically called HALOPERIDOL. It may be that the all of the information that I request is already available through a publicly accessible database and if so could you please direct me to this.

The reason I write is that I am aware that Hospital Guidelines/Protocols for acute agitation, psychosis, behavioural or psychological disturbance generally seem to include Haloperidol as the first-line pharmacological treatment of choice, given either orally or intramuscularly.

This week in the British Medical Journal the following paper has been published: “Change Page:Don’t use antipsychotics routinely to treat agitation and aggression in people with dementia” This refers to individuals who may be…

View original post 201 more words

Leave a Reply

