Mental Health (Scotland) Bill – my second submission & 6 page testimony that the Mental Health Act Safeguards were not safe in February 2012

Here is a link to my second submission and testimony, evidence given to the Health and Sport Committee, Scottish Parliament, in respect of the Mental Health (Scotland) Bill:
http://www.scottish.parliament.uk/S4_HealthandSportCommittee/Inquiries/Chryss_Muirhead_-_2nd_submission.pdf

“Sometimes, when people are unwell, they may have to be detained in hospital or have treatment against their will. But they still have rights. We all have human rights, and mental health law contains special rights and safeguards to protect people.” Mental Welfare Commission for Scotland

In my testimony I contend that it was my family’s experience in February 2012 that the safeguards contained in the Mental Health (Care and Treatment) (Scotland) Act 2003 were not safe.  That the Act was not implemented properly or monitored effectively.  Which resulted in my son being subject to unreasonable treatment in Stratheden Hospital, Fife.  I write about Named Person, Independent Advocacy, Mental Health Tribunal, Advance Statement and the Mental Welfare Commission for Scotland.

I also speak about how the Mental Health Act Principle of Respect for Carers was not adhered to:

“Respect for carers: Those who provide care to service users on an informal basis should receive respect for their role and experience, receive appropriate information and advice, and have their views and needs taken into account”

In fact when I raised concerns with statutory agencies in February 2012 they focused a main part of their Adult Protection Investigation into my character and behaviour, when my son was detained under the Act in a locked ward and being further locked in a seclusion room in the ward which had no toilet or water to drink.  I was accused of causing my son “psychological harm” when he was under the “care and treatment” of NHS Fife.  A psychiatrist and CPN were questioned about me, two men who didn’t know me personally, only as a carer and mother.

I suspect that the label of “schizoaffective disorder” that still sits in my “notes” has had some influence in the discriminating treatment shown towards me in February and March, 2012.  I say this because we have copies of my son’s notes from that time and it says “family history of schizoaffective disorder” in his notes, and I am described as a “difficult and demanding mother”.  I believe this was because I challenged their practices and asked for evidence of their policies and procedures, through FOI requests.  And I advocated for my son at clinical meetings in the ward when he wanted me there.

 

Leave a Reply

