First impressions count by @PAG1962

my comment on this post:

“I agree absolutely with Mr Gray’s statement that “patient experience will define the reputation of NHS Scotland” and I think this is true for all areas of healthcare, including mental health and psychiatric services, which are my focus, as an activist and campaigner, also an unpaid carer of two sons who have been diagnosed or labelled with mental disorders. I’m also a former psychiatric inpatient or survivor as I now call myself, and this is an added impetus in the work I do, to highlight issues and promote alternative ways of working with people in mental distress or altered mind states.

I was encouraged to see via Twitter yesterday that Mr Gray, at the Scottish Patient Safety Programme – Mental Health, National Learning Session, shared personal experience of his mother’s mental health and the impact this had on him when a teenager. I do believe that a person’s story or narrative is a powerful testimony, both in its own right and to influence positive change.”

ayrshirehealth

Preparation

When I knew that I would be taking up post as Chief Executive of NHS Scotland and Director General, Health and Social Care, I wanted to do some preparation before I started.  NHS Scotland logoSo, during the month of November 2013, I visited a number of NHS Boards to meet managers, staff and patients.  And in the last week of November, I went to Boston to meet colleagues from the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) to hear more about their approach to improvement science, in pursuit of improved health and healthcare – some of you might know that Derek Feeley is the Vice President of IHI.  All in all, it was an inspiring month.

Then, on Friday 29th November 2013, I was sitting in the departure lounge of Boston Logan Airport, looking forward to returning home and having a long weekend – Monday 2nd December was meant to be…

View original post 595 more words

Leave a Reply

